Skip to Main Content

Office of the Associate Administrator

The Office of the Associate Administrator for NASA's Science Mission Directorate (SMD) is responsible for directing and overseeing the nation’s space research program in Earth and space science. The Directorate engages the external and internal science community to define and prioritize science questions and seeks to expand the frontiers of four broad scientific pursuits: Earth Science, Planetary Science, Heliophysics, and Astrophysics.

Through a variety of robotic observatory and explorer craft, and through sponsored research, the Directorate provides virtual human access to the farthest reaches of space and time, as well as practical information about changes on our home planet.

  • Dr. John M. Grunsfeld, Associate Administrator

    Jan. 10, 2012

    Dr. John M. Grunsfeld was named Associate Administrator for the Science Mission Directorate at NASA Headquarters in Washington, D.C. in January 2012. He previously served as the Deputy Director of the Space Telescope Science Institute in Baltimore, MD, managing the science program for the Hubble Space Telescope and its partner in the forthcoming James Webb Space Telescope. And in 2008 was NASA’s Chief Scientists. Dr. Grunsfeld’s background includes research in high energy astrophysics, cosmic ray physics and in the emerging field of exoplanet studies with specific interest in future astronomical instrumentation.

  • Mr. Geoffery L. Yoder, Deputy Associate Administrator

    Sept. 10, 2012

    Geoffery L. Yoder, assumed leadership responsibilities for the James Webb Space Telescope, as program director at the agency's headquarters in Washington, on June 30, 2012. Prior to this assignment, Yoder served as the director of the Office of Evaluation at NASA Headquarters, responsible for assessing NASA programs, projects and institutions for cost effectiveness, quality, and performance in achieving strategic objectives, including ensuring alignment with national goals and the agency's vision and mission.

  • Dr. Marc S. Allen, Deputy Associate Administrator for Research

    April 3, 2008

    Marc S. Allen is Assistant Associate Administrator for Strategy, Policy, and International within NASA’s Science Mission Directorate. In this capacity, major functions include oversight of the Directorate’s relationship with the National Research Council and planning and advising on collaboration with foreign space agencies.

  • Mr. Roy Maizel, Deputy Associate Administrator for Management

    Oct. 30, 2008

    Roy A. Maizel is the Deputy Associate Administrator for Management, responsible for the formulation and execution of the Directorate’s $4+ billion budget, as well as the guidance and oversight of all strategic planning and policy development activities. He is also responsible for the provision of administrative support to the Directorate's approximately 200-person Headquarters organization.

  • Dr. Eric Smith, James Webb Program Director

    Sept. 6, 2012

    Dr. Eric Smith is the James Webb Space Telescope Deputy Program Director at NASA Headquarters, Washington, D.C. He works with the Webb Project during the observatory’s development to keep NASA Headquarters management and external partners, both international and intergovernmental, apprised of how the developing hardware measures up against costs, schedules, and science requirements.

  • Dr. Max Bernstein, SMD Lead for Research

    Sept. 12, 2007

    Dr. Max Bernstein recently came to HQ from NASA Ames Research Center in Silicon Valley, where he served as the deputy chief for the Space Sciences Division. He received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from Cornell University in 1993. His research interests include the spectroscopy and chemistry of carbon compounds in space environments, and the search for life in the solar system.

  • Ms. Stephanie Stockman, E/PO Lead

    Nov. 26, 2008

    For the past 16 years, Stephanie has played a leadership role in NASA Earth and space science education at Goddard Space Flight Center. She has been the education lead for several NASA science missions, including Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (LRO), MESSENGER, EOS Aura and Landsat-7.