# Extraterrestrial Materials Analysis Group (ExMAG)

# PAC meeting, Nov. 14 2023

Barbara Cohen, Chair ExMAG.community@gmail.com



## **Recent & Upcoming Activities**

- ExMAG Annual Meeting August 1–3, 2023
- ExMAG opening up some of its committee meetings to public attendance for breaking news
  - Monday December 18, at 11 am CT. The agenda will include annual reports by the ExMAG subcommittees and a presentation by Dr. Lisa Gaddis of the LPI on their plans for implementing the Support for Planetary Sample Science program.
- ExMAG Newsletter now active
- LEAG ExMAG Special Action Team stood up reports due Q3 2024
  - Nominal Samples
  - Volatile Samples and Cold Curation
  - Sample Data
- MEPAG ExMAG virtual workshop, Connecting community scientific hypotheses to Mars sample science Feb 13-15 2024
- Soliciting new members for 2024

# **August Meeting Findings**

https://www.lpi.usra.edu/exmag/meetings/exmagapril2023/ExMAG%202023%20Draft%20Findings\_ v2\_Update.pdf

F1. ExMAG recommends that NASA continue to adopt and use only self-identified demographics in their analyses

F2. ExMAG recommends strengthening AstroMat as the extraterrestrial materials repository

F3. ExMAG recommends formation of international research teams for Chang'E sample access

F4. ExMAG recommends that NASA consider how to enable logistical access to all PSEF-funded facilities for researchers who need to use them

F5. ExMAG recommends that NASA prioritizes maintenance and repair for the unique assets housing the facilities and equipment in NASA Curation

F6. ExMAG recommends that NASA and the MSR project better define the Sample Safety and Preliminary Examination activities planned for the SRP and clearly delineate such activities from sample science

F7. ExMAG recommends that NASA add a criterion to the SRP site selection process consistent with NASA DEIA principles

## **ExMAG membership**

COMMITTEE ExMAG Chair Barbara Cohen Astromaterials Curator Francis McCubbin

EXMAG STEERING

NASA HQ Liaison Jeff Grossman Kathleen Vander Kaaden

#### Facilities and Informatics Subcommittee

Sample curation facilities, databases, and catalogs Pierre Haenecour Rhiannon Mayne Barbara Cohen (GSFC), Chair Jemma Davidson (ASU), Vice-Chair and incoming chair Michelle Thompson (Purdue), Secretary Jessica Barnes (U of Arizona) Kate Burgess (NRL) Jon Friedrich (Fordham) Juliane Gross (Rutgers) Pierre Haenecour (UA) Lydia Hallis (U Glasgow) Philipp Heck (Field Museum) Manavi Jadhav (UL) Yang Liu (JPL) Rhiannon Mayne (TCU) Molly McCanta (UT) Larry Nittler (CIW) Laura Chaves (Purdue) nonvoting EC member, social media coordinator

Lunar Sample Subcommittee Apollo samples, Artemis sample planning Jessica Barnes

#### Mars Sample Subcommittee MMX and Mars Sample Return planning Lydia Hallis and Yang Liu

Microparticle Subcommittee Cosmic Dust, Stardust mission, microparticle impacts Philipp Heck

Asteroid Subcommittee Hayabusa, Hayabusa-2, OSIRIS-Rex Larry Nittler

> Meteorite Subcommittee Antarctic meteorites Jon Friedrich

Genesis Subcommittee Genesis mission Larry Nittler