2 min read

Dawn Mission Honored by RNASA Foundation

Artist's concept of the Dawn spacecraft orbiting Ceres.
Dawn Project Manager Robert Mase (left) and Mission Director Marc Rayman (center) accept a 2017 Team Stellar Award from NASA astronaut Kjell Lindgren (right) on behalf of the JPL Dawn Flight Team from the Rotary National Award for Space Achievement Foundation in Houston on April 28, 2017.

Members of NASA's Dawn mission were honored with awards from the Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation at a banquet in Houston on April 28, 2017.

The Dawn Flight Team at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, California, received a 2017 Team Stellar Award for "outstanding achievement exploring some of the last uncharted worlds in the inner solar system in a unique mission that reveals new insights about the dawn of the solar system."

In addition, Robert Mase, project manager of the Dawn mission, based at JPL, received an individual Stellar Award for "outstanding management of exceptionally successful projects exploring the solar system." Marc Rayman, mission director of Dawn, also based at JPL, additionally won a Stellar Award for "extraordinary and uniquely creative work to explore the solar system and open the frontiers of space to even more ambitious missions to follow."

Dawn's mission is managed by JPL for NASA's Science Mission Directorate in Washington. Dawn is a project of the directorate's Discovery Program, managed by NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama. UCLA is responsible for overall Dawn mission science. Orbital ATK Inc., in Dulles, Virginia, designed and built the spacecraft. The German Aerospace Center, Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Italian Space Agency and Italian National Astrophysical Institute are international partners on the mission team.

For a complete list of Dawn mission participants, visit:

More information about the awards, including a list of winners, is at:

More information about Dawn is available at the following sites: