This is a composite of the Jovian system and includes the edge of Jupiter with its Great Red Spot and Jupiter’s four largest moons.
A semi-circular view of Europa, with its light blue and brown surface marked with brown lines.

Moons of Jupiter

Jupiter has 95 moons that have been officially recognized by the International Astronomical Union. But the number doesn't capture the complexity of the Jovian system of moons, rings and asteroids. The giant planet commands thousands of small objects in its orbit. Scientists are getting so good at spotting tiny moons orbiting distant, giant planets that the International Astronomical Union has decided the smallest will no longer be given mythological names unless they are of “significant” scientific interest.

Explore all of Jupiter's moons


Jovian System

First Discoveries

Jan 7, 1610

Moon Count


Up next

Europa Clipper

Featured Moons

Jupiter's four largest moons were the first moons discovered beyond Earth. They are called the Galilean satellites after Italian astronomer Galileo Galilei, who is credited with their discovery.

A half disc view of Europa shows crisscrossed lines on the icy surface.


A half-globe view of Jupiter's moon, Ganymede. The moon is gray with a big crater on the right side of the image. The moon also has streaks of lighter and darker materials.


Bright scars on a darker surface testify to a long history of impacts on Jupiter moon Callisto in this image of Callisto from NASA Galileo spacecraft.


Keep Exploring

Discover More Topics From NASA