Memorial to Fallen Astronauts on the Moon

List of names and small figurine in the lunar dust.
February 6, 2019
Historical DateAugust 2, 1971
  • english

A close-up view of a commemorative plaque left on the Moon at the Hadley-Apennine landing site in memory of 14 NASA astronauts and USSR cosmonauts, now deceased.

Their names are inscribed in alphabetical order on the plaque. The plaque was stuck in the lunar soil by astronauts David R. Scott, Apollo 15 commander, and James B. Irwin, lunar module pilot, during their lunar surface extravehicular activity (EVA).

The tiny, figurine represents fallen astronauts and cosmonauts:

  1. Charles A. Bassett II
  2. Pavel I. Belyayev
  3. Roger B. Chaffee
  4. Georgi Dobrovolsky
  5. Theodore C. Freeman
  6. Yuri A. Gagarin
  7. Edward G. Givens Jr.
  8. Virgil I. Grissom
  9. Vladimir Komarov
  10. Viktor Patsayev
  11. Elliot M. See Jr.
  12. Vladislav Volkov
  13. Edward H. White II,
  14. Clifton C. Williams Jr.

While astronauts Scott and Irwin descended in the Lunar Module (LM) "Falcon" to explore the Hadley-Apennine area of the moon, astronaut Alfred M. Worden, command module pilot, remained with the Command and Service Modules (CSM) in lunar orbit.