Plaque the Apollo 14 Crew Left on the Moon

Apollo 14 plaque signed by three astronauts
July 2, 2018
Historical DateJanuary 27, 1971
  • english

A close-up view of the plaque which the Apollo 14 astronauts left behind on the moon during their lunar landing mission. Astronauts Alan B. Shepard Jr., commander, and Edgar D. Mitchell, lunar module pilot, descended to the lunar surface in the Lunar Module (LM) "Antares". Astronaut Stuart A. Roosa, command module pilot, remained with the Command and Service Modules (CSM) in lunar orbit. The seven by nine inch stainless steel plaque was attached to the ladder on the landing gear strut on the LM's descent stage. Commemorative plaques were also left on the moon by the Apollo 11 and Apollo 12 astronauts.