Uranus Moons: Overview

The Literary Moons

Uranus has 27 known moons, including five major moons: Miranda, Ariel, Umbriel, Titania, and Oberon.

The moons are sometimes called the "literary moons" because they are named for Shakespearean characters, along with a couple of the moons being named for characters from the works of Alexander Pope.

Featured Moons

Uranus moon Miranda is shown in a computer-assembled mosaic of images obtained Jan. 24, 1986, by NASA Voyager 2 spacecraft. Miranda is the innermost and smallest of the five major Uranian satellites,


Umbriel, a moon of Uranus, is


Voyager 2 image of Titania


This Voyager 2 picture of Oberon is the best the spacecraft acquired of Uranus' second-largest moon.


Keep Exploring

Discover More Topics From NASA