Earth Science Advisory Committee

The Earth Science Advisory Committee (ESAC) is a new FACA committee of NASA, and replaces the Earth Science Subcommittee of the NAC SC. 

The ESAC supports the advisory needs of the Earth Science Division (ESD), the Science Mission Directorate (SMD) and other mission directorates as required, and NASA Administrator.  The scope of the ESAC includes the advancement of scientific knowledge of the Earth system through space-based observation and the pioneering use of these observations in conjunction with process studies, data assimilation and modeling to provide the Nation with improved capability to: predict climate variability, global change, and weather; mitigate and respond to natural hazards; and improve the scientific basis for policy decisions.  In addition to observations and scientific research, the scope encompasses the development of computing and information management capabilities and other enabling technologies, including those with the potential to improve future operational satellite and ground systems.