Ad-Hoc Big Data Task Force

Charles Holmes, Chair
Retired NASA
Gerald Smith, Exec. Secretary
NASA Headquarters - Science Mission Directorate
Clayton Tino
Virtustream, Inc.
James Kinter, III
George Mason University
Neal Hurlburt
Lockheed Martin
Raymond Walker
University of California, Los Angeles
Reta Beebe
New Mexico State University
Eric Feigelson
Penn State University
Chris Mentzel
Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Photo of the Big Data Task Force members
Ad-Hoc Big Data Task Force members attending the November 2017 meeting at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory: (left to right) back row: Amy Reis (Logistics Coordinator), Neal Hurlburt, James Kinter, Charles Holmes, Raymond Walker, Gerald Smith, Joan Zimmermann (Recorder); front row: Chris Mentzel, Reta Beebe, Eric Feigelson.

Final BDTF Products

Below is the final report and white papers presented to the Science Committee of the NASA Advisory Council at their November 2017 meeting.

All studies, findings and recommendations in these deliverables have been submitted to the Science Committee and to officials at NASA HQ. The opinions expressed in these materials do not reflect NASA’s concurrence, approval, or indicate steps to implementation.

BDTF White Papers, 11/3/17

BDTF Meeting Documents

November 2017

June 2017

March 2017

September 2016

June 2016

  1. Opening Remarks - Dr. Erin Smith
  2. Welcome / GSFC Overview - Dr. Coleen Hartman
  3. Chair's Opening Remarks - Dr. Charles Holmes
  4. Community Coordinated Modeling Center - Dr. Maria Kuznetsova
  5. HPC and Climate Model Data - Dr. Daniel Duffy
  6. Climate Analytics - Dr. John Schnase
  7. Data Policies - Dr. Charles Holmes
  8. Lunch Talk: Advances in Big Science Data Projects Outside NASA – Larry Smarr
  • Day 2

February 2016

Documents on this page have been submitted for 508 compliance tagging and will be replaced when the tagged files become available.

Keep Exploring

Discover More Topics From NASA