Nancy Grace Roman Technology Fellowships in Astrophysics for Early Career Researchers

The goals of the Nancy Grace Roman Technology Fellowship in Astrophysics (typically referred to as the Roman Technology Fellowship) program are to give early career researchers the opportunity to develop the skills necessary to lead astrophysics flight instrumentation development projects and become principal investigators (PIs) of future astrophysics missions; to develop innovative technologies that have the potential to enable major scientific breakthroughs; and to foster new talent by putting early-career instrument builders on a trajectory towards long-term positions.

Proposals for the Roman Technology Fellowship are solicited through both the Astrophysics Research and Analysis (APRA) and Strategic Astrophysics Technology (SAT) program elements of the Research Opportunities in Space and Earth Sciences (ROSES) solicitation. Proposals for Fellowship funds may now be submitted by RTF fellows at any time within two years from the date the RTF-related APRA proposal is selected. Information regarding ROSES and the Roman Technology Fellowship solicitation can be found on the NSPIRES web site.

Roman Technology Fellowship 2021 Fellows

Brandon Chalifoux University of Arizona
Jake Connors National Institute of Standards and Technology/Boulder
Sona Hosseini Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Christopher Mendillo University of Massachusetts
Jonathan Pober Brown University
Paul Szypryt University of Colorado/Boulder


Roman Technology Fellowship 2020 Fellows

Casey DeRoo University of Iowa
Keri Hoadley University of Iowa
Dmitry Vorobiev University of Colorado/Boulder


Roman Technology Fellowship 2019 Fellows

No Solicitation in 2019

Roman Technology Fellowship 2018 Fellows

Regina Caputo NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Gregory Mace University of Texas, Austin
Sarah Heine Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Roman Technology Fellowship 2017 Fellows

Manel Errando Washington University, St. Louis
Adam McCaughan National Institute of Standards and Technology/Boulder
Varun Verma National Institute of Standards and Technology/Boulder


Roman Technology Fellowship 2016 Fellows

Abigail Vieregg University of Chicago
Omid Noroozian National Radio Astronomy Observatory


Roman Technology Fellowship 2015 Fellows

Erika Hamden California Institute of Technology
Daniel Cunnane NASA Jet Propulsion Lab
Eric Schindhelm  Southwest Research Institute


Roman Technology Fellowship 2014 Fellows

John Conklin University of Florida
Brian Fleming University of Colorado
Tyler Groff  Princeton University


Roman Technology Fellowship 2013 Fellows

No Solicitation in 2013

Roman Technology Fellowship 2012 Fellows

Cullen Blake University of Pennsylvania
Kevin France University of Colorado


Roman Technology Fellowship 2011 Fellows

Judd Bowman Arizona State University
Michael McElwain NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Randall McEntaffer University of Iowa


For questions about the Roman Technology Fellowships, please contact Mario R. Perez at

Please direct questions or corrections on this page to