Astrophysics Advisory Committee

The Astrophysics Advisory Committee (APAC) is a new FACA committee of NASA, and replaces the Astrophysics Subcommittee of the NAC SC. 


APAC Members

Charles Woodward; Chair

University of Minnesota

Manuel Bautista

U. West Michigan

Jessica Gaskin

Marshall Space Flight Center

Ryan Hickox

Dartmouth College

Kelly Holley-Bockelmann

Vanderbilt University

Suvrath Mahadevan

Pennsylvania State University

Margaret Meixner


Michael Meyer

University of Michigan

Lou Strolger

Space Telescope Science Institute

Lucianne Walkowicz

Adler Planetarium

The APAC supports the advisory needs of the Astrophysics Division (APD), the Science Mission Directorate (SMD) and other mission directorates as required, and NASA Administrator.  The scope of the APAC includes projects and observational and theoretical study of the origins, evolution, and destiny of the universe and the search for and study of Earth-like planets and habitable, extrasolar environments.  In addition to scientific research, the scope encompasses considerations of the development of near-term enabling technologies, systems, and computing and information management capabilities, developments with the potential to provide long-term improvements in future operational systems, as well as training of the next generation of astronomers, and education and public outreach.

Upcoming Meetings

APAC Summer Meeting (Virtual)
June 29-30, 2021
11:00am – 5:00pm Eastern Time


APAC Meeting Documents

June 29-30, 2021, 11:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. EST each day​ (Virtual Meeting)


March 15-17, 2021, 11:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. EST each day​ (Virtual Meeting)


October 19-21, 2020 (Virtual Meeting)


June 23-24, 2020


March 5-6, 2020


October 28-29, 2019


October 22-23, 2018


July 23-24, 2018


April 11-12, 2018


October 18-19, 2017


July 19-20, 2017

April 2017


Please direct questions regarding the Astrophysics Advisory Committee to Dr. Hashima Hasan, Executive Secretary.

Please direct questions or corrections on this page to